Review of Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Foundation

chanel-aqua

After all the hype I had been hearing about this foundation, I had to try it. 

Coverage: The foundation gives sheer to medium coverage. What I love about this foundation is that it can be applied really sheerly during the day for a natural effect. But, you can also build it up for a more medium coverage at night. The coverage is enough to cover small imperfections and blemishes, without needing a concealer. Unlike other foundations, when you build the foundation using several layers it does not look cakey or heavy. It still maintains a natural glow.

Consistency: Surprisingly, the foundation has a very watery consistency even though it is oil free. I really like this as it make it easier to spread the foundation and build it. You have to shake the foundation well before using it otherwise it separates.

Longevity: On my combination skin the foundation lasts for up to 6 hours, and then starts to fade. It can fade slightly patchy, which isn’t ideal. I find dusting my face with loose powder after I have applied it, helps to prolong its wear.

Effect on skin : For me the foundation lit up my skin, giving it a natural  dewy glow. Unlike other foundations the glow it gave to my skin did not look oily. When applied sheerly it was so natural, that some people couldn’t even tell I was wearing foundation. Even though this foundation is oil free, it still broke my sensitive skin out. After doing some research I found that the foundation contains ingredients like parabens and sulphates. These ingredients are known irritants that break out people’s skin and many other leading beauty brands have stopped using them.

Colours: One of the downsides to this foundation is the limited range of shades Chanel offers. I found that the colour matched my skin but, the tone was not quite right for my Asian skin. The foundation also has contains SPF 15 within it. Even though this helps to protect the skin against sun damage, it gives the dreaded white glow in photographs taken with flash. To be honest if you are serious about protecting your skin from the Sun, you need to using a separate SPF lotion. Foundations that contain SPF do not give adequate protection when used alone.

Packaging: I was slightly disappointed with the packaging when I purchased it. However, it is very light and travel friendly. The cap is secure so you don’t have to worry about any spillages.

Price: The foundation is priced at £32. It is slightly more expensive than some other premium brands.

Application: Due to the consistency of this foundation, I think it is best applied with a foundation brush. This allows you to spread the foundation evenly.

Overall: This foundation fills the gap between tinted moisturisers and foundations. It can be applied sheerly and can be built up to give natural medium coverage. However, the ingredients it contains can irritate your skin. Therefore, I would advise people to get a sample and test the foundation’s effect on your skin before shelling out £32 for it.

By Shivani

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow us on Twitter: @TheHonestBB

Like us on Facebook: TheHonestBB

Check us out on Pinterest: TheHonestBB

Follow us on Instagram: thehonestbeautyblog

